Town Council

Christiansburg Town Council is the legislative body that is responsible for establishing policy, taxation, land use and operating budgets for the Town. The Town was first incorporated in 1792. In 1956, the Town adopted a council-manager form of government. The council is comprised of six voting members and a mayor who votes in the event of a tie. Town Council and Mayor candidates run at-large in nonpartisan, general elections every four years, with three council seats available every two years and the mayor sear available every four years.

Photo of Christiansburg Town Council as of January 2024

Meetings

Regular Town Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month beginning at 7 p.m. in Council Chambers of Town Hall (100 E. Main Street). The public is welcome and encouraged to attend, with a citizen hearing time reserved at each meeting for residents to bring any matter they desire before the entire council. Residents are limited to 3-minutes and must state their name and address before addressing council.

If you would like a topic to be added to the Town Council meeting agenda, please contact Randy Wingfield at 540-382-6128 or rwingfield@christiansburg.org.

All council and committee meetings are posted to YouTube at christiansburg.org/YouTube.

Members

In the council-manager form of government, the council appoints a town manager to act as administrative liaison for the Town. The town manager carries out policies established by council, directs business procedures, and has hiring and termination authority over all Town employees except the chief of police, town clerk and treasurer, who are also appointed by council. The town manager is responsible for preparing, submitting and administering an annual operating budget, advising council on Town affairs, enforcing the Town Charter and laws of the Town, and directing and supervising all Town departments.

Town Council, in its legislative role, adopts all ordinances and resolutions and establishes the general policies of Christiansburg. The council also sets the real estate tax rate, approves and adopts the annual operating budget, and is responsible for the appointment of board and commission members, including Planning Commission members who are also appointed to four-year terms.

Elected Member

Contact

Term Expires

D. Michael Barber, Mayormbarber@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2025
Kim Bowmankbowmanr@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2027
Samuel Bishopsbishop@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2027
Johana Hicksjhicks@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2027
Tanya Hockett, Vice Mayorthockett@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2025
Casey Jenkinscjenkins@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2025
Timothy Wilsontwilson@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2025


Contact

Email all Town Council members at towncouncil@christiansburg.org or email a member directly at the links above.