Council Members

Council History

Christiansburg Town Council is the legislative body that is responsible for establishing policy, taxation, land use, and operating budgets for the Town. The Town was first incorporated in 1792. In 1956, the Town adopted a council-manager form of government. The council is comprised of six voting members and a mayor who votes only in the event of a tie. Each member is elected to a four-year term, with three seats being open for election every two years. Likewise, the mayor’s seat is filled every four years by general election. All members of council serve at large.


Regular Town Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month beginning at 7 p.m. in Council Chambers of the Municipal Building located at 100 East Main Street. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend, with a citizen hearing time reserved at each meeting for citizens to bring any matter they desire before the entire council.

If you would like to be added to the Town Council meeting agenda, please contact Randy Wingfield at (540) 382-6128 or by email.

Members & Roles

In the council-manager form of government, the council appoints a town manager to act as administrative head of the Town. The town manager carries out policies established by council, directs business procedures, and has hiring and termination authority over all Town employees except the chief of police, town clerk, and town treasurer, who are also appointed by the council. The town manager is responsible for preparing, submitting, and administering an annual operating budget, advising council on Town affairs, enforcing the Town Charter and laws of the Town, and directing and supervising all Town departments.

The council, in its legislative role, adopts all ordinances and resolutions and establishes the general policies of the Town. The council also sets the real estate tax rate, approves and adopts the annual operating budget, and is responsible for the appointment of Planning Commission members who are also appointed to four-year terms.

The members of council are as follows:

Elected officialTerm expires

D. Michael Barber, Mayor

December 31, 2025

Samuel Bishop

December 31, 2023

Johana Hicks

December 31, 2023

Tanya Hockett

December 31, 2025

Casey Jenkins

December 31, 2025

Henry Showalter

December 31, 2023

Timothy Wilson

December 31, 2025

Email Christiansburg Town Council.