Planning Commission

The Town’s Planning Commission is comprised of a minimum of 5 and maximum of 15 appointed residents and a non-voting secretary (Planning Director). The Commission is responsible for submitting recommendations to Town Council on a wide variety of land use issues including the Town’s comprehensive plan, zoning, conditional use permits, rezoning petitions and general planning issues. 

Members are appointed to four-year terms. 

The Commission prepares an annual report summarizing the activities of the previous year. 

View the 2020 Planning Commission Annual Report (PDF)

Meetings

  • 7 p.m.
  • Monday following a Town Council meeting
  • Council Chambers
    100 E. Main Street
    Christiansburg, VA 24073

Regular meetings are held 6 days after a Town Council meeting and you can view the Town Calendar to find upcoming meetings. Sign up with Notify Me to receive notification when agendas and agenda packets become available. 

Members

Contact

Term Ends


Hil Johnson, Chairhjohnson@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2023
Jeananne Knies, Vice Chairjknies@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2024
Thomas Bernardtbernard@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2024
Ashley Briggsabriggs@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2024
Felix Clarke, Jr. fclark@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2022
Mark Curtismcurtis@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2024
Jessica Davisjdavis@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2023
Jennifer Sowersjsowers@christiansburg.orgDec. 31, 2024


Planning Commission meetings are recorded and posted to the Town's YouTube page.

Contact

Email all Planning Commission members at planningcommission@christiansburg.org or email a member directly at the links above.

Planning Director Benjamin Tripp serves as the staff liaison to the Planning Commission and may be contacted for more information or questions about the board.

Minutes & Agendas

Current meeting agendas and agenda packets are available prior to the meeting. These materials are available at Town Hall and can also be accessed from the meeting event on the Town Calendar.

View all Agendas, Agenda Packets, and Meeting Minutes